General   (General discussion, talk about anything.)

Started by: tonker (25136) 

She sent me a text.
I couldn’t repeat it on here, thorry!

PeterP said - “Tonker I know Garswood/DG where part of the Wigan area and are now under St Helens area “

Peter, Garswood (which Downall Green is a part of) has NEVER been part of the Wigan area no more than the WN postal area.
What’s the Wigan area anyway?
I’d call Garswood in the Garswood area, which is part of the Ashton area. Haydock is in the Haydock area.
St.Helens is a borough, named after a church, which contains towns.
Wigan is a town.
Wigan borough is a borough named after a town, which contains other towns. The other towns are not Wigan.
To save confusion, local government areas should not be named after a constituent town.

Replied: 15th Jan 2022 at 19:37

Report Abuse

Only use this form to report abuse about the post displayed above. If you have a query or wish to make a comment, do not use this form.

Your IP No. ( will be logged.

* Enter the 5 digit code to the right of the input box. Don't worry if you make a mistake, you will get another chance. Your comments won't be lost.